2023 Call for Award Nominations

The Mid-Atlantic Association of Museums (MAAM) encourages members to submit nominations for the following categories of awards to recognize organizations and individuals throughout the Mid-Atlantic region for their leadership, career achievements, creativity, and best practices.

Required Materials for Nomination

  • Nominator’s contact information
  • Nominee’s contact information
  • 1 cover letter explaining why you believe the person/organization should be nominated for the award (in PDF form, please)
  • 1 letter of support attesting to the nominee’s contributions to the museum field and to their community (in PDF form, please)
    • For the Katherine Coffee Award Only: 1 additional letter of support (in PDF form, please)

Please send any questions to info@midatlanticmuseums.org. Applications can be submitted online at https://forms.gle/fbgcw96fbi2gf2pJ8.  The deadline for nominations is extended to September 1, 2023.



The MAAM Awards Committee will review all nominations following the close of the Call for Nominations. Nominating parties will be notified of the committee’s decision by mid September. Recipients will be announced publicly in September and recognized during the 2023 Annual Meeting at the Hotel DuPont in Wilmington, Delaware, October 10-12.

The Katherine Coffey Award

The Katherine Coffey Award is given each year by the Mid-Atlantic Association of Museums to an individual in the Mid-Atlantic region to recognize distinguished achievement in the museum field. The Coffey Award ceremony is held annually at the MAAM Annual Meeting and is one of the pinnacle events of the conference.

The Making an Impact Award

This award honors museums and institutions as a whole for developing either a program, exhibition, or special project that displays responsiveness and resourcefulness and have resulted in creative change for their organizations and a positive impact on their communities.

The Emerging Museum Professional Award

An award celebrating outstanding emerging professionals who have worked or volunteered in the museum industry for fewer than 7 years.

About the Coffey Award

Reprinted from the Museologist, No.125

Awards for outstanding service are too seldom given by organizations of the museum profession. It is true that occasionally persons in the field receive certificates of merit, plaques and sometimes, although very rarely, honorary degrees. As a rule, such awards when given are presented by chambers of commerce, service clubs, and once in a while, by colleagues and universities.

Unfortunately, however, our own profession has rarely regarded the contribution of its own notables.

Therefore, it was somewhat unusual that the Board of Governors of the Northeast Museums Conference (now MAAM) in May, 1972 agreed that nominations from a broad area be solicited for recognition of distinctive and worthy projects within the museums field. It was also decided that occasionally, when opportunity offered, a professional museum staff member should be cited for outstanding service to museology. The award, set up by the Conference, took the name of the late Katherine Coffey (1900-1972). She was one of the outstanding museum leaders and administrators of the nation.

A graduate of Barnard College in the class of 1922, she first joined the Newark Museum staff in 1923, left and returned in 1925 to remain on permanent basis until her retirement in 1968. She was in charge of all exhibitions and educational programs and directed an apprentice-training program from 1929 to 1942. During that period the course graduated 110 young people who later became associated with the staffs of museums all over the country. Many became prominent in their profession. In 1949, Miss Coffey became the Newark Museums fourth director, serving in that post 19 years. She had devoted 43 years of service to the museum when she retired in 1968. On her retirement the Newark Museum established the $100,000 Katherine Coffey Endowment Fund in her honor.

With this background of the honor as a basis it is more clearly evident why the action of the Conference was most appropriate when it conferred the first Katherine Coffey Award upon Hanna Toby Rose in 1972, who had just retired from the Brooklyn Museum.

Eligibility and Qualifications for the Coffey Award

  • Nominees should have worked as a paid museum professional for at least 10 years in a principal position.
  • Nominees should have been (or be currently) employed in the Mid-Atlantic region during the period of principal contribution for which the award is being given.
  • Nominees should demonstrate accomplishment in their role and a record of service to the profession on state, regional, national, and/or international levels.
  • Nominees should also have a proven record of service to the community in which the museum is located.

Coffey Award Reception, 2018 MAAM Annual Meeting in Baltimore

Past Award Winners

The Katherine Coffey Award is MAAM’s highest honor. The following individuals have been recognized for distinguished achievement in the museum field.

2019 Recipient-Kinshasha Holman Conwill



  • 2022 Phyllis Hecht
  • 2021 Carol B. Stapp
  • 2020 Not awarded due to pandemic year
  • 2019 Kinshasha Holman Conwill
  • 2018 Sonnet Takahisa
  • 2017 Richard Piacentini
  • 2016 Pamela Green
  • 2013 Courtney Wilson
  • 2012 Sally Roesch Wagner
  • 2011 Rebecca Alban Hoffberger
  • 2010 Mary Sue Sweeney Price
  • 2009 Gretchen Sorin
  • 2008 Martha Morris
  • 2007 Richard Burkert
  • 2006 Nicholas Westbrook
  • 2005 Mary Case
  • 2004 Pauline Eversmann
  • 2003 Jim Gold
  • 1998 Marie C. Malaro
  • 1997 50th Anniversary of MAAM + Celebration of all award winners to date
  • 1996 Lynne Poirer-Wilson
  • 1995 Michael J. Ripton
  • 1994 Joel N. Bloom
  • 1993 Mary Alexander
  • 1992 James H. Duff
  • 1991 Samuel C. Miller
  • 1990 Stephen E. Weil
  • 1989 Charles F. Hummel
  • 1988 William T. Alderson
  • 1987 Susan Stitt
  • 1986 Paul N. Perrot
  • 1985 Joseph Veach Noble
  • 1984 Caroline & Sheldon Keck
  • 1983 William C. Steere
  • 1982 Holman J. Swinney
  • 1981 Frank A. Taylor
  • 1980 Louis Clark Jones
  • 1979 Eva Ingersoll Gatling
  • 1978 Dorothy Dudley
  • 1977 Edward P. Alexander
  • 1976 Adelyn Dohme Breeskin
  • 1975 W. Stephen Thomas
  • 1974 Gordon M. Smith
  • 1973 Ralph Lewis
  • 1972 Hanna Toby Rose
PO Box 4 Cooperstown, NY 13326


Click here to subscribe to our e-Newsletter!